Current time: 22.10.2018, 13:16 Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)
Language: english | russian  

Post Reply 
Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
Questions and Answers
Author Message
Berserker Offline
Administrators

Posts: 10639
Post: #166

You can have two files:

YourMapName.h3m
YourMapName.erm

and write scripts in ERM editor. You don't need to use Global Events at all.
Script YourMapName.erm is always loaded before all other scripts.


Скачать Герои 3 Эра и всё, что с ней связано
06.06.2009 00:18
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #167

I never saw this. What map uses this feature? And why it is more comfortable than using local events? The ERM file must be in maps folder or in Heroes/s folder?


Era mods and utilities
(This post was last modified: 06.06.2009 00:47 by Valery.)
06.06.2009 00:46
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Berserker Offline
Administrators

Posts: 10639
Post: #168

Quote:What map uses this feature?
Don't know, but it's a fact.

Quote:And why it is more comfortable than using local events?
Because ERM Editor is much more comfortable than primitive window of events editor.

The ERM file must be in Maps\


Скачать Герои 3 Эра и всё, что с ней связано
06.06.2009 02:35
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #169

Bah, I do the scripts in ERM then I bind them into the map, using the new editor features. I don't know, but I feel more comfortable by having them into map. Question of habit I think. Never heard of it. I will try it.


Era mods and utilities
06.06.2009 02:46
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Berserker Offline
Administrators

Posts: 10639
Post: #170

But it's quite difficult to extract scripts from map to translate, for example Sm


Скачать Герои 3 Эра и всё, что с ней связано
06.06.2009 03:56
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #171

I am using the advanced features, which allows you to bind any global event to an external ERM file and save the changes you do further at this file. As it is a Russian patch I was thinking you all use it. I am not sure I see how using as external ERM whole script is working, I will try it. For me scripts are easy to modify and identify if one by one. But your option is interesting, as it will allow to search for overlapped variables easier (right now I was using "export text"+check)


Era mods and utilities
06.06.2009 07:47
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ganymed Offline

Posts: 736
Post: #172

It is realy more usefull to work with separate ERM-file instead of map events usage.
Firstly, you're able to test some corrected scripts (not all, unfortunaly) by just reloading a map, you don't need to restart the map in these cases.
Secondly, a script editor (ERM_S) is more suitable to work with scripts, because it gives you an opportunity to create your own workspace by highlighting commands, comments, macros and so forth as you wish.

highlighting ERM example (Click to View)

Moreover, you can create a Declaration or Tag points for each script, that provides you an easy document navigation and exploring.

document navigation by declarations (Click to View)

Also, the editor has many options to optimise your work with scripts, such as creating ERT-files from your internal massage commands if you need to and so forth.


Настрой имеет значение!
(This post was last modified: 06.06.2009 14:21 by Ganymed.)
06.06.2009 13:15
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #173

We learn every day. Thank you for detailed explanations. I will try it out.


Era mods and utilities
06.06.2009 13:35
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ganymed Offline

Posts: 736
Post: #174

(06.06.2009 13:35)Valery Wrote:  We learn every day.

So do I Sm And it seems to be a good spending of life-time.


Настрой имеет значение!
(This post was last modified: 06.06.2009 14:30 by Ganymed.)
06.06.2009 14:23
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #175

Update on the big ERM file option:


I wondered what that SVCS stuff was for, as it seemed unnecessarily
complicated if all it was for was to combine separate scripts into one file.
I am guessing now that the whole process involves creating a new wogify file (script99) and fooling the program into using that file the way it uses the
built-in WoG scripts. That might explain why all the existing WoG scripts
(script00.erm - script77.erm on my system) have to be removed.

Is there any map out which works with this feature or was at least tested with it?
So far I am getting a black screen when starting game, if the scripts are removed and compiled into a big one. And still I think it is easier for me to work on scripts taking them one by one rather than checking one through million codes. But it is a commodity issue I have to admit.


Era mods and utilities
14.06.2009 10:27
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Berserker Offline
Administrators

Posts: 10639
Post: #176

Damn it, everything was misunderstood Bad
Ok, forget about scvs and one script file for a while.


Скачать Герои 3 Эра и всё, что с ней связано
14.06.2009 12:04
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #177

I got a program (smacker) from radgamestools.com which allowed me for the first time to convert smk. movies from MM6 to UNCOMPRESSED avi. Result: it can be viewed in WoG using !!IF:P command. As I saw many people asking how it is possible to view movies, this may interest you. Tested and working.

The tool refused to recognize the bik/smk Homm3 campaigns files, saying they are too old format. As for uncompressing already compressed AVI, it is not possible. So, the only movies I could get to show were the MM6 ones.


Era mods and utilities
(This post was last modified: 06.07.2009 22:23 by Valery.)
06.07.2009 21:39
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Qwertyus Offline

Posts: 248
Post: #178

You can try old version of Smacker (3.0) to compress AVI in SMK-files, suitable for Heroes III:
It's here
But don't use Bink compression for audiostreams in SMK-files (that may cause problems, use Smacker compression only).

Or you can update your Bink, Smacker & Miles dlls in Heroes III folder to play videos, compressed with new version of Smacker:
Try this (mss32.dll, v6.1c; BINKW32.DLL, v0.5b; SMACKW32.DLL, v4.0e).


Абонент временно недоступен...
06.07.2009 23:40
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Valery Offline

Posts: 1919
Post: #179

Thanks. Too bad Heroes play only uncompressed files, as their weight is huge. A smk went from 2.9 Mo to 62 Mo when uncompressed for a movie of 9 seconds. Updating the dll is not suitable, as if movies play only on my installation will not help. Unless a future WoG version update all in once, so all the dll are updated, for everyone.


Era mods and utilities
07.07.2009 00:50
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Qwertyus Offline

Posts: 248
Post: #180

(07.07.2009 00:50)Valery Wrote:  Too bad Heroes play only uncompressed files...

No, no, you CAN compess videofiles with Smacker, and Heroes III CAN play these files. The only problem is right compression. My English is not so fine and I can't write a detailed manual, but I can do some screenshots for you. Just wait a little.


Абонент временно недоступен...
07.07.2009 01:16
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:

Powered by MyBB Copyright © 2002-2018 MyBB Group